About Basel


Many events in Basel have a long tradition. Indeed, the origins of its carnival, the famous Basler Fasnacht, date back to the 14th century. The Autumn Fair has a history that stretches back over 500 years. But even some of the more recent events have now become an essential part of the city's history.

We should also not forget the many smaller events which go to make a city of culture what it is.

Basel Events Calendar

http://www.basel.com/de/search/events


Basel Old Town

Take a walk through the Basler Altstadt, the old town, which is one of the most intact and most beautiful in Europe. You'll be surprised by the unique architectural diversity.

Buildings from the 15th century can be found on every corner, together with those made by internationally renowned contemporary architects. Thanks to its manageable size, the city is ideal for you to explore on foot. You will then discover that although this rather unusual combination of tradition and modernity creates tension, the cityscape itself is one of harmony.

https://www.basel.com/de/aktivitaeten_ausfluege/basler-altstadt


Kunstmuseum Basel

The Kunstmuseum Basel is an art gallery which owns the world's largest collection of works by the Holbein family. The Renaissance is also represented in significant works by Konrad Witz, Martin Schongauer and Lucas Cranach.
 http://www.kunstmuseumbasel.ch

 

Tinguely Museum

The architect Mario Botta has created an unusual "play room" for Tinguely's works with his museum on the Rhine. In the impressive central hall alone, there is space for up to twenty sculptures. The unfailingly moving figures captivate art connoisseurs and amateurs alike. Jean Tinguely communicates and integrates with the observer through his works. Tinguely's works are bursting with spirit, joie de vivre, irony and poetry.
http://www.tinguely.ch/de.html


Fondation Beyeler

The Fondation Beyeler is the owner of Hildy und Ernst Beyeler's art collection, which the husband and wife collected over a period of about 50 years and which was transferred to the foundation in 1982. In 1989, the collection was put on display to the public for the first time in Madrid with a focus on classical modernity. The Beyeler Collection documents the personal view of the married gallery owners Hildy und Ernst Beyeler on 20th century art. Among other artists, you will find works by Degas, Monet, Cézanne, Van Gogh, Picasso, Mondrian, Warhol, Lichtenstein and Bacon.
http://www.fondationbeyeler.ch

 

Basler Fasnacht

All hell breaks loose and you get goosebumps! The carnival known as the Basler Fasnacht begins at 4.00 a.m. on the Monday after Ash Wednesday with the "Morgenstraich" - a marching, musical procession in complete darkness, except for the lanterns of those marching. The carnival last exactly 72 hours and ends on the Thursday morning at 4.00 a.m. with the "Endstraich". During this period, the centre of Basel is taken over by the costumed "Fasnächtler", who move with their cliques through the streets, pubs and shops. Those who are actively involved also refer to the Basler Fasnacht as "die drey scheenschte Dääg" (the three most wonderful days).
http://fasnacht.ch


Art Basel

Art Basel is an international art fair. Around 300 leading galleries from over 30 countries exhibit at Art Basel, showing modern and contemporary art from the 20th and 21st century. The range of works on show at Art Basel includes paintings, sculptures and installations, as well as videos, multiples, prints, photography and performance by over 4000 artists.

https://www.artbasel.com


Baselworld Watch and Jewellery Show 

Baselworld is not only the world's most important trade fair for watches and jewellery, it is also the place where the global market leaders in the diamond, pearl and precious stones industry meet. Under the umbrella of Baselworld, they present their most spectacular pieces. 
http://www.baselworld.com


Basel Tattoo

The Basel Tattoo presents world-famous catchy tunes, original choreography and a brilliant light show in front of the wonderful, historic backdrop of the Basel barracks. Top musicians, show bands and the best representative orchestra from all continents captivate the audience musically and visually on a journey around the world, and guarantee emotional highlights for all the senses. There are marches to classical sounds, you can rock to classics from the history of rock and pop, and sounds from the Scottish Highlands from the Massed Pipes & Drums give you a feeling of wanderlust in the gigantic Basel Tattoo Arena – and on behalf of "Her Majesty", bands from royal houses bring elegance and glamour to Basel.
http://www.baseltattoo.ch

Basel Autumn Fair

The Basel Autumn Fair is more than your usual fairground or fete. With a tradition dating back over 540 years and its special customs, it is part of the living cultural assets of the city. As a traditional fair in the centre of the city, it also radiates out into the three-countries region (Germany, France and Switzerland) and attracts around a million people from home and abroad every year. The charm of this public festival is surely also due to its extremely high status for the population of Basel.
http://www.basel.ch/Portrait/Veranstaltungen/Basler-Messen-und-Maerkte/Basler-Herbstmesse.html


Basel Christmas Market

The Basel Christmas market on Barfüsserplatz and Münsterplatz is one of the largest and most beautiful Christmas markets in Switzerland. During Advent, the city on the Rhine opens up to show its very special charm. Right in the centre of the city, embedded in the historic old town decorated for Advent, the idyllic Christmas market can be found on Barfüsserplatz and Münsterplatz. Over 190 traders and craftsmen peddle their wares from small wooden chalets. There's also plenty to tempt your tastebuds - whether it's a mug of mulled wine, genuine Basler Läckerli biscuits, fine Swiss raclette or the popular grilled sausages. 
https://www.basel.com/de/die-basler-weihnacht-gr%C3%B6sster-weihnachtsmarkt-der-schweiz

 

Vogel Gryff

Vogel Gryff is the most celebrated holiday in the Kleinbasel area. Every year, alternately on 13th, 20th or 27th January, Basel experiences the celebration of the three honourable societies «zum Rebhaus»,«zur Hären» and «zum Greifen». The savage («der Wilde Mann») floats down the Rhine on his raft, to an accompaniment of gun salutes. In the ensuing dance through the back streets of Kleinbasel, he is accompanied by a lion and a griffin – the latter known as «Vogel Gryff». The spectacle is completed by drummers and men dressed in traditional costume, with standards raised proudly aloft.

www.vogel-gryff.ch

»Back to "About us"

Basel


Viele Basler Veranstaltungen haben eine lange Tradition. So gehen die Ursprünge der berühmten Basler Fasnacht bis ins 14. Jahrhundert zurück und die Herbstmesse verfügt über eine über 500-jährige Geschichte. Aber auch einige der jüngeren Events sind aus der Geschichte der Stadt nicht mehr wegzudenken.
Nicht vergessen sollte man auch die vielen kleineren Veranstaltungen, die eine Kulturstadt erst zu dem machen, was sie ist.
Veranstaltungskalender Basel 
http://www.basel.com/de/search/events


Basler Altstadt

Spazieren Sie durch die Basler Altstadt, die zu den intaktesten und schönsten Europas gehört, und lassen Sie sich dabei von einer architektonischen Vielfalt überraschen, die ihresgleichen sucht.
An jeder Ecke finden sich Bauten aus dem 15. Jahrhundert, aber auch solche zeitgenössischer, international renommierter Architekten. Dank ihrer überschaubaren Grösse eignet sich die Stadt ideal dazu, sie zu Fuss zu entdecken. Dabei werden Sie feststellen, dass diese eher ungewöhnliche Kombination von Tradition und Moderne zwar für Spannung sorgt, das Stadtbild in sich aber dennoch harmonisch ist.
https://www.basel.com/de/aktivitaeten_ausfluege/basler-altstadt


Kunstmuseum Basel

Das Kunstmuseum Basel besitzt die weltweit grösste Sammlung von Arbeiten der Holbein-Familie. Die Renaissance ist ausserdem mit bedeutenden Werken von Konrad Witz, Martin Schongauer und Lucas Cranach vertreten.
 http://www.kunstmuseumbasel.ch

Tinguely Museum

Der Architekt Mario Botta hat mit seinem am Rhein gelegenen Museum einen ungewöhnlichen «Spiel-Raum» für Tinguelys Werke geschaffen. Allein in der gewaltigen zentralen Halle finden bis zu zwanzig Skulpturen Platz. Die sich unermüdlich bewegenden Figuren ziehen Kunstliebhaber und Laien gleichermassen in ihren Bann. Jean Tinguely kommuniziert und interagiert durch seine Werke mit dem Betrachter. Tinguelys Werke sprühen vor Esprit, Lebenslust, Ironie und Poesie.
http://www.tinguely.ch/de.html


Fondation Beyeler

Die Fondation Beyeler ist die Eigentümerin der Kunstsammlung von Hildy und Ernst Beyeler, die das Ehepaar während etwa 50 Jahren zusammengetragen hatte und die 1982 in die Stiftung überführt wurde. 1989 wurde die Sammlung mit Schwerpunkt auf der klassischen Moderne in Madrid erstmals öffentlich gezeigt. Die Beyeler-Sammlung dokumentiert den persönlichen Blick des Galeristen-Ehepaars Hildy und Ernst Beyeler auf die Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts. Man findet hier unter anderem Werke von Degas, Monet, Cézanne, van Gogh, Picasso, Mondrian, Warhol, Lichtenstein oder Bacon.
http://www.fondationbeyeler.ch

Basler Fasnacht

Ausnahmezustand und Gänsehaut! Die Basler Fasnacht beginnt am Montag nach Aschermittwoch um 4.00 Uhr mit dem Morgenstraich, dauert genau 72 Stunden und endet am Donnerstagmorgen um 4.00 Uhr mit dem Endstraich. In dieser Zeit wird die Innenstadt von Basel von den Fasnächtlern beherrscht, die in ihren Cliquen durch die Strassen, Kneipen und Geschäfte ziehen. Von Aktiven wird die Basler Fasnacht auch als «die drey scheenschte Dääg» (die drei schönsten Tage) bezeichnet.
http://fasnacht.ch


Art Basel

Die Messe Art Basel ist eine internationale Kunstmesse.
Rund 300 führende Galerien aus über 30 Ländern präsentieren sich auf der Art Messe Basel und zeigen moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhundert. Das Angebotsspektrum der Basler Kunstmesse umfasst dabei Gemälde, Skulpturen und Installationen sowie Videos, Multiples, Drucke, Fotografie und Performance von mehr als 4.000 Künstlern.

https://www.artbasel.com


Basel World – Die Weltmesse für Uhren und Schmuck

Baselworld ist nicht nur die weltweit bedeutendste Messe für Uhren und Schmuck, es ist auch der Schauplatz auf dem sich die globalen Marktgrössen der Diamanten-, Perlen- und Edelsteinindustrie treffen. Unter dem Dach der Baselworld präsentieren sie ihre spektakulärsten Stücke. 
http://www.baselworld.com


Basel Tattoo

Das Basel Tattoo präsentiert weltbekannte Ohrwürmer, originelle Choreografien und eine brillante Lichtshow vor der wunderschönen historischen Kulisse der Kaserne Basel. Spitzenmusiker, Showbands und die besten Repräsentationsorchester aus allen Kontinenten entführen das Publikum musikalisch wie optisch auf eine Reise rund um die Welt und garantieren emotionale Highlights für alle Sinne. Es wird marschiert zu klassischen Tönen, gerockt zu Klassikern der Pop- und Rockgeschichte, schottische Hochlandklänge der Massed Pipes & Drums zaubern Fernweh in die gigantische Basel Tattoo Arena – und im Auftrag «Ihrer  Majestät» bringen Bands aus Königshäusern königliche Eleganz und Glamour nach Basel.
http://www.baseltattoo.ch

Herbstmesse Basel

Die Basler Herbstmesse ist mehr als eine übliche Kilbi oder Kirmes. Mit ihrer mehr als 540-jährigen Tradition und dem besonderen Brauchtum gehört sie zum lebendigen Kulturgut der Stadt. Als traditionelle Innenstadtmesse strahlt sie zudem weit in die Dreilandregion aus und lockt jeweils rund eine Million Menschen aus dem In- und Ausland nach Basel. Der Charme dieses Volksfestes liegt sicher auch darin, dass sein Stellenwert bei der Basler Bevölkerung ausserordentlich gross ist.
http://www.basel.ch/Portrait/Veranstaltungen/Basler-Messen-und-Maerkte/Basler-Herbstmesse.html


Weihnachtsmarkt Basel

Der Basler Weihnachtsmarkt auf dem Barfüsserplatz und dem Münsterplatz gilt als einer der schönsten und grössten der Schweiz. Die Stadt am Rhein entfaltet in der Adventszeit einen ganz besonderen Charme. Mitten in der Innenstadt, eingebettet in die vorweihnachtlich geschmückte historische Altstadt, befindet sich der idyllische Weihnachtsmarkt auf dem Barfüsserplatz  und auf dem Münsterplatz. Über 190 Händler und Kunsthandwerker bieten in kleinen, rustikalen Holz-Chalets ihre Waren an. Aber auch für Gaumenfreuden ist gesorgt, sei es mit Waffeln, einer Tasse Glühwein, echten Basler Läckerli, feinem Schweizer Raclette oder den beliebten Grillwürsten. 
https://www.basel.com/de/die-basler-weihnacht-gr%C3%B6sster-weihnachtsmarkt-der-schweiz

 

Vogel Gryff

Der höchste Kleinbasler Feiertag ist der Vogel Gryff. Jedes Jahr – alternierend am 13. 20. oder 27. Januar – erlebt Basel das Fest der drei Ehrengesellschaften zum Rebhaus, zur Hären und zum Greifen. Unter Salutschüssen fährt der Wilde Mann auf seinem Floss den Rhein herunter. Beim anschliessenden Tanz durch die Gassen Kleinbasels wird er von Löwe und Vogel Gryff begleitet. Tambouren und Herren in altertümlicher Tracht mit stolz erhobenen Bannern vervollständigen das Schauspiel.

www.vogel-gryff.ch

 

»Zurück zu "Über uns"