Highlights in Basel

The cultural diversity paired with buildings steeped in history make Basel a unique highlight. Enjoy a concert at the Stadtcasino Basel, stroll through the old town, visit an exhibition held in one of the city's many museums or pay a visit to the animals in the Basel Zoo. The city has something for everyone.

Basel

Basel Old Town

Take a walk through the Basler Altstadt, the old town, which is one of the most intact and most beautiful in Europe. You'll be surprised by the unique architectural diversity.

Buildings from the 15th century can be found on every corner, together with those made by internationally renowned contemporary architects. Thanks to its manageable size, the city is ideal for you to explore on foot. You will then discover that although this rather unusual combination of tradition and modernity creates tension, the cityscape itself is one of harmony.

Discover more

Kunstmuseum Basel

The Kunstmuseum Basel is an art gallery which owns the world's largest collection of works by the Holbein family. The Renaissance is also represented in significant works by Konrad Witz, Martin Schongauer and Lucas Cranach.

Discover more

Tinguely Museum

The architect Mario Botta has created an unusual "play room" for Tinguely's works with his museum on the Rhine. In the impressive central hall alone, there is space for up to twenty sculptures. The unfailingly moving figures captivate art connoisseurs and amateurs alike. Jean Tinguely communicates and integrates with the observer through his works. Tinguely's works are bursting with spirit, joie de vivre, irony and poetry.

Discover more

Fondation Beyeler

The Fondation Beyeler is the owner of Hildy und Ernst Beyeler's art collection, which the husband and wife collected over a period of about 50 years and which was transferred to the foundation in 1982. In 1989, the collection was put on display to the public for the first time in Madrid with a focus on classical modernity. The Beyeler Collection documents the personal view of the married gallery owners Hildy und Ernst Beyeler on 20th century art. Among other artists, you will find works by Degas, Monet, C├ęzanne, Van Gogh, Picasso, Mondrian, Warhol, Lichtenstein and Bacon.

Discover more

Basel Zoo

The Zoological Gardens, known affectionately as "Zolli" by Basel's inhabitants, opened in Basel in 1874 and is home to a large number of indigenous and exotic animals. Basel Zoo is a popular excursion destination and well worth a visit at any time of year. In the summer months the park is an ideal place to stroll in the open air, in the winter months the various animal houses guarantee up close and personal encounters with a wide variety of animals. If wou wish to discover an underwater world, there are several unterwater creatures to discover at the vivarium.

Discover more

Highlights in Basel

Die kulturelle Vielfalt gepaart mit geschichtsträchtigen Bauten machen Basel zu einem einzigen grossen Highlight. Geniessen Sie ein Konzert im Stadtcasino Basel, flanieren Sie durch die Altstadt und besuchen eine Ausstellung in einem der zahlreichen Museen oder beobachten Sie die Tiere im Basler Zoo. Die Stadt hat für jeden etwas zu bieten.

Basel

Basler Altstadt

Spazieren Sie durch die Basler Altstadt, die zu den intaktesten und schönsten Europas gehört, und lassen Sie sich dabei von einer architektonischen Vielfalt überraschen, die ihresgleichen sucht.

An jeder Ecke finden sich Bauten aus dem 15. Jahrhundert, aber auch solche zeitgenössischer, international renommierter Architekten. Dank ihrer überschaubaren Grösse eignet sich die Stadt ideal dazu, sie zu Fuss zu entdecken. Dabei werden Sie feststellen, dass diese eher ungewöhnliche Kombination von Tradition und Moderne zwar für Spannung sorgt, das Stadtbild in sich aber dennoch harmonisch ist.

Mehr erfahren

Kunstmuseum Basel

Das Kunstmuseum Basel besitzt die weltweit grösste Sammlung von Arbeiten der Holbein-Familie. Die Renaissance ist ausserdem mit bedeutenden Werken von Konrad Witz, Martin Schongauer und Lucas Cranach vertreten.

Mehr erfahren

Tinguely Museum

Der Architekt Mario Botta hat mit seinem am Rhein gelegenen Museum einen ungewöhnlichen «Spiel-Raum» für Tinguelys Werke geschaffen. Allein in der gewaltigen zentralen Halle finden bis zu zwanzig Skulpturen Platz. Die sich unermüdlich bewegenden Figuren ziehen Kunstliebhaber und Laien gleichermassen in ihren Bann. Jean Tinguely kommuniziert und interagiert durch seine Werke mit dem Betrachter. Tinguelys Werke sprühen vor Esprit, Lebenslust, Ironie und Poesie.

Mehr erfahren

Fondation Beyeler

Die Fondation Beyeler ist die Eigentümerin der Kunstsammlung von Hildy und Ernst Beyeler, die das Ehepaar während etwa 50 Jahren zusammengetragen hatte und die 1982 in die Stiftung überführt wurde. 1989 wurde die Sammlung mit Schwerpunkt auf der klassischen Moderne in Madrid erstmals öffentlich gezeigt. Die Beyeler-Sammlung dokumentiert den persönlichen Blick des Galeristen-Ehepaars Hildy und Ernst Beyeler auf die Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts. Man findet hier unter anderem Werke von Degas, Monet, Cézanne, van Gogh, Picasso, Mondrian, Warhol, Lichtenstein oder Bacon.

Mehr erfahren

Zolli Basel

Der 1874 eröffnete Zoologische Garten wird in Basel liebevoll "Zolli" genannt und beherbert eine grosse Anzahl heimischer und exotischer Tiere. Der Zoo ist ein beliebtes Ausflugsziel und zu jeder Jahreszeit einen Besuch wert. Im Sommer lädt der Park zum gemütlichen Flanieren im Freien ein, im Winter versprechen die Tierhäuser spannende Begegnungen aus nächster Nähe. Wer die Unterwasserwelt entdecken möchte, trifft im Vivarium auf eine bunte Vielfalt an Meerestieren.

Mehr erfahren